All, Book Reviews

Book Review: Fairest

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

Fairytale Retelling. 326 ages. 5 Stars

Synopsis:

In the kingdom of Ayortha, who is the fairest of them all? Certainly not Aza. She is thoroughly convinced that she is ugly. What she may lack in looks, though, she makes up for with a kind heart, and with something no one else has-a magical voice. Her vocal talents captivate all who hear them, and in Ontio Castle they attract the attention of a handsome prince – and a dangerous new queen. In this masterful novel filled with humour, adventure, romance, and song, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine invites you to join Aza as she discovers how exquisite she truly is.

My Review:

I’ve re-read Ella Enchanted countless times, but I believe this may be my first time re-reading Fairest. And it was just as charming as the first time I read it. The nostalgia is strong with this one XD

I decided to try out the audio book, and I’m glad I did. It was a delightful, full cast production. The compositions and melodies were charming, and some of those minor key ones made me want to hear more! The cast did a wonderful job. And, of course, to Levine’s credit, the lyrics themselves are silly and fun, contributing to the charm of the whole story.

While Snow White has historically not been one of my favorite fairy tales, this was the first retelling of it I ever read and the first time I ever liked the tale. I’ve since learned that the story can be well done, and that shift in large part is because of the foundation of this book. It will always hold a special place in my heart.

But more than that, it’s rare to find a sequel (or in this case, a companion novel) that lives up to the first book. While I will forever adore Ella Enchanted and cannot in good faith say I like Fairest more than Ella, I can say that I have always found this one a pleasant expansion on the world. It’s not a disappointment, as Ogre Enchanted was to me or many other sequels and companion novels tend to be. This one took a unique part of Ella’s world, Ayortha, and made it sing. Pun totally intended.

I love the fun Easter eggs, like Areida and the choir master, Lucinda of course, and all of the other goodies. They make me smile. But the story stands in its own right, too.

I find Aza’s fascination with beauty a refreshing twist on the tale. Typically it’s the Evil Queen who is so fixated on beauty, but to see not only Aza’s desire for beauty but also a reasonable explanation and meaningful plot purpose for it is satisfying. I love the way Levine threads that foundational element to the original story so deeply into her retelling in such a natural way. And seamlessly stitches it into her world.

Compassion oozes from this story and Aza’s perpetual kindness lifts my heart. Ivi makes the perfect “Evil” Queen and the kingdom faces such culturally meaningful challenges. I just love how perfectly tailored this story is! zhamM and the underground caverns are my absolute portrayal of gnomes ever. Ijori’s sweet character (and beloved hound) round out the story in such a heartfelt way. The characters are darling and the story compelling. The setting is both full of life and a treat to Ella’s readers. I don’t know what more there is to say. I most assuredly recommend this one!

Content: no foul language, a clean, sweet romance (one that admits there are faults in people and forgiveness and the challenge to be better too!), and only some very mild fantasy violence. An enchanting read, well worth the follow up after Ella. This one’s MG, so safe for the young readers.

More:

Fairest is a companion novel to Ella Enchanted (5 Stars)

Additionally, there is a “prequel” to Ella Enchanted that has nothing to do with Fairest, entitled Ogre Enchanted (4 Stars).

The two books are each standalones, though I would personally recommend reading Ella Enchanted first and Fairest second for the best reading experience. You can learn more with the links above!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Fairest”

Leave a comment